Safely Delete Users Without Erasing Content

WARNING: Be careful when deleting users such as previous employees. It is critical that you make sure you do not delete their content they created if they have left your organization.

If you need to delete an employee that no longer works for your business, it’s important that you pay attention to any warnings regarding content they created.

If a WordPress user is the owner of any content, you’ll see this after clicking ‘delete’:

This is where a lot of WordPress administrators make a mistake and choose the first option: ‘Delete all content’. Don’t do that!

Be sure to choose the second option: ‘Attribute all content to: [username]’. That will change the ownership of the content from the user you are deleting to the user you are selecting. Now you can proceed and confirm deletion. To be safe, you can just attribute all of their content to the shop manager account.

What happens if I delete content by accidentally deleting a user?

First, Contact WP CartCraft Support

The quicker you contact us, the better chance we have of restoring your content provided not too much time has passed by.

Need to see a quick video on this? WP Learning Lab has a great video example on how to safely delete a user:



Article Attributions: The Gecko Agency, WP Learning Lab

Want to know more?

Sign up for our email list

WP Cart Craft builds high-performance websites for small businesses that want powerful tools. We combine open-source ownership, POS inventory sync, VPS hosting, and managed support to give you pro-level tools at a lower cost.

Reach Out To Us:

Contact Page

Located In

Ruston, LA 71270
WP Cart Craft © 2026, A GWP Endeavors LLC Company
We are experienced in helping small businesses get their digital footprint out there. The platform we use is open source and flexible. It also powers 43% of websites on the internet. Contact us today to discuss what we can do for you.
Contact INfo

Phone

318-814-8489

Business Hours

Mon – Fri 9am-5pm
The Freedom of choice